Skip to content

WellStar Kennestone Hospital Becomes One of Two Hospitals in the Country Certified in Complex Cardiac Services

April 5, 2017


WellStar Kennestone Hospital’s cardiac program is one of only two programs in the United States to receive the Joint Commission Gold Seal Disease-Specific Certification for Heart Valve, Coronary Artery Bypass Surgery (CABG) and Congestive Heart Failure. This means WellStar patients across the state have access to the highest levels of care, close to home.

“Our unwavering focus on patient care sets WellStar apart from other health systems,” said Barry Mangel, M.D., chief cardiology officer at WellStar Health System.  “We are able to provide excellent cardiac care that is making an impact on the health of our community.  We have highly skilled physicians and caregivers who are all working toward a singular goal—getting our patients back to their lives.”

As one of only two hospitals to receive Joint Commission Gold Seal Disease-Specific Certification for these three areas, WellStar continues to show leadership in patient-centric cardiac care through innovative treatments, technologies and approaches.  An example is the CardioMEMS™ device offered to stage three heart failure patients with frequent readmissions. This implantable device measures a patient’s pulmonary artery pressure and heart rate through a sensor that is implanted in pulmonary artery. This allows physicians to wirelessly manage heart failure.

Coordinating care can be a challenge for patients, particularly those with multiple chronic illnesses.  WellStar has created individualized clinics to develop care plans centered on the patient and the patient’s family, which acts as a support system. The care plans are developed by a multidisciplinary group to reduce the amount of follow-up appointments and streamline the access to multiple healthcare professionals through the Comprehensive Care Clinic and Structural Heart Clinic.

The Joint Commission is an independent, not-for-profit organization that accredits and certifies nearly 21,000 healthcare organizations and programs in the United States. Joint Commission accreditation and certification is recognized nationwide as a symbol of quality that reflects an organizations commitment to meeting certain performance standards.

To receive this two-year certification, healthcare organizations must invite the Joint Commission teams to survey the desired programs and evaluate the clinical teams, processes and outcomes.

To see the full list of certifications and accredited hospitals, visit

 About WellStar Health System
WellStar Health System, the largest health system in Georgia, is known nationally for its innovative care models, focused on improving quality and access to healthcare. WellStar consists of WellStar Medical Group, 240 medical office locations, outpatient centers, health parks, a pediatric center, nursing centers, hospice, homecare, as well as 11 hospitals: WellStar Atlanta Medical Center, WellStar Atlanta Medical Center South, WellStar Kennestone Regional Medical Center (anchored by WellStar Kennestone Hospital), WellStar West Georgia Medical Center, and WellStar Cobb, Douglas, North Fulton, Paulding, Spalding Regional, Sylvan Grove and Windy Hill hospitals. As a not-for-profit, WellStar continues to reinvest in the health of the communities it serves with new technologies and treatments.  For more information, visit


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: