Skip to content

Cobb High School Students Earn Top Honors in H2O in HD PSA Video Challenge

April 30, 2015

watersmartFour videos produced by teams of Cobb County high school students have been selected as winners of the third annual H2O in HD video challenge.

H2O in HD – which is presented in partnership with the Cobb County-Marietta Water Authority (CCMWA) and Cobb County Water System – invited Cobb County high school students to showcase their video production skills by creating a 60-second PSA to promote water conservation and highlight the value of water. More than 21 entries from various-area high schools were submitted.

“The students who participated in our third annual H2O in HD video challenge thought of new and creative ways to educate others about the value of water and water conservation,” says Amy Warnock, water efficiency programs specialist at Cobb County Water System. “The message driven by these PSAs will encourage people of all ages to make waterSmart decisions now, and in the future.”

The top three entries received cash prizes – with half of the money going to the winning team of students and half to their school, including $500 for first place, $300 for second place and $100 for third place.

“Georgia is a hub for video and media production,” says Warnock. “High school students have more access to the industry than ever before. This challenge encourages students to use their skills to educate others about the value of water and the importance of water conservation. We thank all the students who participated and congratulate the winners and their schools.”

The winning entries, including special recognition for the “People’s Choice Award” decided by online voters, were announced during a video premiere party at CCMWA on April 28, and included:

Grand Prize Winner — Kell High School

  • John Perkins
  • Andrew Johnston
  • Demar Earnest
  • Nathaniel Bush
  • Nicholas Brooks

Second Place — Kell High School

  • Kristina Rivera
  • Jamie Stannard
  • Alex Weisbeck
  • Kyndall Woods
  • Scott Ferguson

Third Place — Kell High School

  • Reagan Poteet
  • Tyler Key
  • Abby Shaw
  • Yaumeen Hill

People’s Choice Award — Kell High School

  • Jessica Rainbow
  • Alli Smith
  • Taylor Roetzer

The following two teams were awarded honorable mention for creativity and video production skills:

Honorable Mention — Allatoona High School

  • Brittany Hulette
  • Erica Hulette

Honorable Mention — Kell High School

  • Jackson Gropp
  • Chaz Darby
  • Matthew Springfield

All entries along with the winning videos can be seen at youtube/

About waterSmart

The waterSmartSM program was initiated by the CCMWA in 2000 to educate their service area residents of all ages about the importance of indoor and outdoor water conservation and to help encourage sustainable, year-round conservation, regardless of climate conditions. The CCMWA is in its eleventh year of providing the waterSmart program to the community. For more information on water conservation and waterSmart, visit

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: