Skip to content

Cobb EMC Directors Recognized for Board Excellence

September 11, 2014

(Marietta, GA – Sept. 2, 2014) – National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) CEO Jo Ann Emerson bestowed a “Cooperative Spirit Award” on Cobb EMC directors during a visit to the Marietta, Georgia-based cooperative. Member-owned, not-for-profit electric cooperatives, not just in the U.S. but around the world, operate according to a core set of seven cooperative principles. NRECA’s Cooperative Spirit Award recognizes the commitment by co-op leaders to adhere to these principles in all aspects of management.

“Cobb EMC directors are putting the interests of its members first. This Cooperative Spirit Award honors their commitment to live up to the seven cooperative principles,” said NRECA CEO Jo Ann Emerson. “The Cobb board’s focus on members shows the cooperative difference.”

Cobb EMC’s directors are the first recipients of NRECA’s Cooperative Spirit Award and have focused efforts on increased transparency and accountability, stronger governance and lower operating costs.


Cobb Electric Membership Corporation (Cobb EMC), a not-for-profit electric cooperative, safely delivers reliable electricity to more than 175,000 residential and commercial members in Cobb, Bartow, Cherokee, Fulton, and Paulding counties. Cobb EMC’s distribution system consists of 9,101 miles of line over 432 square miles. With more than 192,000 meters served, Cobb EMC is one of the largest of Georgia’s 41 EMCs and among the largest of the nation’s 900 EMCs. For more information, visit, or follow Cobb EMC on Facebook, Twitter or Pinterest.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: